Hurray! My Post Office will remain OPEN!

many more people and cars showed up after we did

many more people and cars showed up after we did

It’s official, my post office will remain open with a reduction in hours!  In January the postal service sent out a survey to address our post office’s possible demise.  In the survey, we had to give our choice of several possible options that could happen.  Fortunately, 92% of the returned surveys wanted to the office to stay open, even if the window hours had to be reduced.  (They have up to seven more days to decide which hours the post office will be open.)  Now, I should say that after going to this town meeting today, I feel very fortunate.  There are some post offices that are reducing their window hours down to two or four hours a day!  Mine will be open for six hours, plus time for the postal worker to have a lunch.

my postal worker, Debbie on right, talking to the woman giving us the news

my postal worker, Debbie on right, talking to the woman giving us the news

Thank you to everyone who sent mail to me in an effort to keep my PO open.  I don’t know if it was any help, but it sure made me feel good that you cared enough to send me mail.  Don’t forget that the contest for my 1000th post is still going on.  Send a postcard or letter to be entered.  The drawing will be held and the winner announced during my 1000th post.  This is post #989.  Winner in eleven!  The prize will be an original miniature quilt that I made.  Here’s the address:  Sharon Renick, PO Box 404, Trinidad, TX  75163

This entry was posted in contest, miniature quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hurray! My Post Office will remain OPEN!

  1. Jan Thompson says:

    Hallelujah!! So glad for you. Hugs, Jan

  2. Chris says:

    So glad your post office will stay open. We had the very same thing happen to our post office. I was unable to attend the meeting they had and of course to postal service scheduled it during a time when most people would be at work! Not a sign they want to keep their locations open for sure! But ours was saved and there will be reduced hours as well. These small post offices are like community centers where people meet and talk to one another, catch up on what’s going on in the community, etc. It will be sad if and when they do close. Hopefully, we will keep them open.

Comments are closed.