Horror of Horror! Forgotten Postcards!

the stamps from the Russian card showing France's National Day of Grandmothers

the stamps from the Russian card showing France’s National Day of Grandmothers

Even worse than forgetting to put the photos of the postcards on Postcrossing and forgetting to write a post about them for this blog, is misplacing them.  Unfortunately, I have indeed misplaced some.  I’m heart-sick about it.  Just goes to show that my organizational skills have suffered greatly in the last few years and that mailing them all up to me in Oklahoma, when I’m there for an extended period, is not necessarily the best thing to do.  I hope to find the missing cards one day and when I do, I’ll post about them too.  The first photo shows the stamps I had wanted to show in the last postcard post.  Aren’t they wonderful?

Bamburgh Castle

Bamburgh Castle

I’ve really been working on my postcard collection over the last couple of days.  When I noticed that several of my postcard photos had not been uploaded to Postcrossing, I knew there was a bit of a problem.  So, the hunt is on.  I did find four of the missing.  The first one I’m showing is of Bamburgh Castle in Northumberland (United Kingdom).  This card was written on June, 2012 and I received it 17 days after it was mailed.  Vanessa says that the original castle dates back to 420AD!  She also says the views there are stunning and it’s a great place to walk along the beach.  If I ever get to go to England, I hope to walk around some castle.  This looks like it would fit the bill just fine.

photo #3 shows the card from Anaclara

photo #3 shows the card from Anaclara

The third photo shows the postcard from Anaclara.  She is from the south of Brazil (and is there now), but when she sent my card last June, she was in the Netherlands with her new fiancé!  She proposed to him.  Way to go Anaclara!  I like a woman who goes after what she wants.  She has been a Postcrossing member for over two years.  This postcard took 10 days to get to me after she mailed it.  She says that the front of the card says “a soft/sweet kiss from me”.

postcard from Robin in the USA

postcard from Robin in the USA

The next postcard is from Robin, who has been a Postcrossing member for more than 2 years.  She sent this to me on August 12, 2011.  I got it three days later and then put it in an envelope full of other mail and forgot all about it.  I love the postcard because of the pen and ink drawing feel it has.  Robin says that she stayed in this hotel one night after finishing a month of trail work on the Pacific Coast Trail!  (Have  you read Wild by Cheryl Strayed?  Very good book about walking the PCT!)  Robin said the hotel stay was a refreshing experience after camping in the woods for a month!  I can only imagine!  She also says that she’s an avid knitter.

from Minsk, Belarus

from Minsk, Belarus

The last postcard for today is from Minsk, Belarus.  It took 68 days to get to me in September of 2011.  Just to show you how odd the mail systems can be, the next card I got from Belarus, only took 17 days to get to me!  He says that the card shows the Belarusian national holiday — The Bush!  It has pagan roots and means “procreation”.  It’s a nice card and the meaning is interesting, but what I really like are the postage stamps he used to mail it.

Belarus stamps!

Belarus stamps!

Here are the wonderful postage stamps on the Minsk postcard.  Lovely, fun, colorful — love!

This is post #995.  Won’t be much longer before someone wins the miniature quilt!  Have you mailed in your postcard entry?  Good luck!

This entry was posted in in the mail, post cards, postcrossing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Horror of Horror! Forgotten Postcards!

  1. Jan Thompson says:

    Very enjoyable. I’m praying you find those cards!! Hugs, Jan

  2. Another beautiful batch!! You have quite a unique collection! I, too, feel heart-sick for your ‘card loss.’ They will turn up when you least expect it. The same thing happens to me 😦

Comments are closed.