Quickie

I wasn’t going to post about this, but when I got an email this evening from a concerned blog friend, I decided that I should.

I haven’t been posting much lately.  One reason is that I haven’t had much to say.  Another is that earlier in the week, I was quite blue.  So much so that I thought about going back on medication that I’ve recently come off of.  I’m feeling fine now and have been for a couple of day.  Hurray!  (Still not much to say though.)

The most recent reason for not posting is that I’ve been glued to the TV watching coverage of the fertilizer plant explosion in West, Texas.  I live a little over 60 miles from West.  (I heard the explosion, although at the time, I thought it was thunder.  Yes, from that far away.  Just goes to show how powerful the blast was.)  The whole thing has been difficult for so many of us here in Texas.  I live in a similar, even smaller community.  Our firefighters are all volunteer too.  I have a soft spot in my heart for the people who put themselves in danger to help the rest of us.  I’m just heart-sick over this happening to this small town.  I feel helpless to help them.  I can donate blood and money and possibly even a few needed nonperishable items, but when you get right down to it, that is nothing.  I can pray and I have been, but none of this feels at all like I’m really doing anything.  Does that make sense?

#997

This entry was posted in gratitude, grief, kindness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quickie

  1. jennadee222 says:

    My thoughts are with you and your community in trying to cope during this very difficult time.

Comments are closed.