One Thousand and a Winner

I’ve put off writing this post because I don’t have the miniature quilt prize quite finished, but I’m going ahead and getting back into the game, so to speak.  I did have the drawing in anticipation of this one thousandth post.  My niece B has been visiting my momma this week.  One day when I went to visit them, I had B pick the winner.  Drum roll please….the winner is….Chris O!  Congratulations, Chris!  I’ll have your miniature quilt in the mail just as soon as I put the finishing touches on it.  I’ll show the completed quilt here after she gets it. Thank you to all who entered and who sent mail in an effort to save my local post office.  The hours are shorter, but we did save her!

I am so behind on sharing my postcards with you!  I think I have 20 or so to show you.  So, I’ll start with the first five and try to get the others in over the next few days.

From Carol in New York

From Carol in New York

All five of these are postcrossing cards.  First is a postcard from New York showing the state bird, the Eastern Bluebird.  I love these birds.  I see them here, but not nearly often enough.  Their blue is just sparkling and I always feel like I’ve been given a gift if I see one!  They never fail to make me catch my breath either.  This card comes from Carol.  She says she also has a dog named Katie!  Her Katie is a 15-year-old Beagle mix.  (My Katie has been sprayed by a skunk twice recently.  Yuck!)  Carol loves old movies and crochet.

#2 from Kerstin in Germany

#2 from Kerstin in Germany

Postcard number two is from Germany.  It shows another pretty bird.  This time it’s a Blue Tit in winter.  Kerstin mailed this card on April 16th and says that even though it is spring, there was still snow on the ground.  It took ten days for the card to get to me.

Easter card from Katya in the Ukraine

Easter card from Katya in the Ukraine

The third card comes from Katya in the Ukraine.  She says this is an Easter card.  On the front, it says “Christ is risen!”  Katya says this is the phrase you hear people saying to friends and strangers on Easter Sunday in the Ukraine.

From Annie

From Annie

Card number four is from Annie in Hong Kong.  She said she had never heard of mail art before reading about it on my profile.  She thought about making me a mail art postcard, but decided to mail this one instead.  It shows the Kowloon Star Ferry Pier.  The information on the back of the card says that there are ten ferries which make 455 crossings a day, carrying up to 600 passengers each!  That sounds a bit frightening to me for some reason.

From Bernadetta in Poland

From Bernadetta in Poland

The last card for today is from Bernadetta in Poland.  She says she lives in a little town in the mountains.  She likes to travel.  She also speaks German, French and a little English.  I love heart things so this was a great postcard to get!  Unfortunately, I have no idea what the front of the card says and some of it was damaged in the mail.

I hope  you’ve enjoyed seeing my postcards.  There will be more tomorrow!

This entry was posted in contest, in the mail, miniature quilts, post cards, postcrossing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Thousand and a Winner

  1. Jan Thompson says:

    Sharon How about using the iTranslate From Google that Sara sheree for translating recipes to translate that postcard?

    Jan T

Comments are closed.