Some of the Backlog and some found ones too

From Cor in the Netherlands

From Cor in the Netherlands

The first four photos are from my backlog.

I was totally delighted when I got this first postcrossing postcard!  The main reason is because it actually says “postcrossing” on it!  I want to make myself some postcards specifically for postcrossing now!  Don’t know why I didn’t think of it earlier.  This card is from Cor who lives in Tilburg in the Netherlands.  He says the town is middle-sized and in the south near the Belgian border.  He likes to make long electric bicycle rides into the countryside with meadows and woods.  So he was really glad that spring had arrived.  I wonder if it’s feeling like summer there now, like it is here?  I didn’t know there were electric bicycles, so this one taught me something.  It’s one for the favorites pile!

From Maria in Belarus

From Maria in Belarus

The second card is from Maria in Belarus.  She says that she is 22 and will be leaving university this year.  She’ll be a foreign languages teacher!  Maria says that Belarus is a very beautiful country, rich in culture, history and nature.  She said she hopes I enjoy the postcard.  She wished me love, self-confidence, and health.  She put her return address on the card, so I’ll try to send her a card in return.

Number 3 from Eugenia in Russia

Number 3 from Eugenia in Russia

Postcard three is one of my all time favorites!  I love these little old ladies, or grannies, as they are sometimes called.  These lovely little ladies are the art work of Inge Löök, a Finnish born artist who was once a professional gardener.  I would see various postcards with these delightful ladies occasionally on postcrossing and hoped that I would get some one day.  I finally added this desire to my profile.  Much to my joy, I got two on one day!  Talk about a happy mailbox!  (the second will be shown in a different post)  This one was sent from Eugenia in Moscow, Russia.  She says that she likes traveling and had been to the Dominican Republic two months before.  It was an 11 hour flight, “but it was worth it — ocean, sun and good people.  What could be better?”.  She wished me a sunny day in closing.

Back of the grannies card from Russia

Back of the grannies card from Russia

The fourth photo shows part of the back of the card.  I love the drawing of the ladies raising flags on a flag pole!  I just noticed that this card has Inge Löök/17 in the top left corner.  I hope that means there are at least 16 more granny cards!  Maybe I’ll have them all one day!  One thing that I found interesting about this one is that my zip code has been scratched out by the post office and rewritten.  The postal service apparently could not make out the Russian (European?)  way to write the number one.  Love the postage stamps too.

San Diego from Bacon

San Diego from Bacon

The rest of the photos and cards are from the lost and now found cards.

The postcard of San Diego is from “Bacon”.  On her postcrossing profile, it says that her name is Angie.  She writes “Sharon, This is the second card to you.  I’m not entirely sure if I mailed the first.  Sorry if this is late!  Bacon”.  I read her profile and learned that she is a mother of two and that she is a Roller Derby skater!  Wow!  I can barely stay upright on skates.   Her nickname with the skaters is Bacon.  I would have loved to see this sky in person!  The postmark on the card says Sept. 4th, 2012.

From Natalia in Moscow, Russia

From Natalia in Moscow, Russia

This sweet little postcard is from Natalia in Moscow, Russia.  She says “I hope this card is like you!  Happy postcrossing!”  This card took 35 days to get to me.  Her profile says that she is a mother of two.  She likes to travel and cross stitch.  She’s been a member for more than two years, but hasn’t logged into postcrossing in seven months.

When ever I check out the profiles of people I’ve connected with by sending or receiving postcards on postcrossing, I get a bit sad if they are no  longer active.  I have taken time off in the past too, so I’m hopeful that they will come back and continue to enjoy the exchange.

That’s it for today.  More soon.

 

 

This entry was posted in in the mail, post cards, postcrossing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.