Postcards — the stack is getting smaller!

New York City

New York City

The first card is not a postcrossing card, although the rest are.  The New York City card came from the friendly folks at Save the US Postal Service by Writing More Letters!  I’m not at all sure that the link will work.  It’s a facebook link.  It was mailed on May 1st and says “Thanks for doing your part to keep the mail circulating!  Wishing you a happy spring!”.

Stamps of Belarus

Stamps of Belarus

The second postcard is from Belarus and is from my backlog of postcards.  It’s a very fun card showing 20 years of Belarus postage stamps!  It’s also the second card of this type that I’ve gotten from Belarus.  Luckily they show different stamps on the front!  I especially love the bobcats on this one!  Then again, are they bobcats?  I like them, no matter what animal it really is.  Dasha is from the Ukraine, but moved to Belarus two years ago when she got married.  Dasha’s husband is from there.  She works on TV as a journalist and she like to do something creative in her off time.  She makes jewelry, candles and cards.  It was written on May 15th, 2013.  And she says the temperature was 28 degrees Celsius, which is just over 84 degrees Fahrenheit.  She also wishes me and my family luck.  I love the little sunshine she drew on the back of the card.  Love those doodles folks!  Keep them coming.

from Bernadette in Germany -- lovely Holland

from Bernadette in Germany — lovely Holland

Now on to the lost and found.  The third postcard is a lovely one of Holland is and from Bernadette in Germany.  She is 25 years old and says that she lives in the south of Germany in a small town.  Her hobbies are reading, writing letters and postcards, painting and playing the piano.  Great hobbies!

postage stamp on the Holland card

postage stamp on the Holland card

I like the postage stamp she used too.

The Loons from Jessalyn

The Loons from Jessalyn

This next postcard is fairly unusual for me.  The postage stamp on the back matches the image of the loons on front!  I’m sure there is a name for this, but I don’t know it.  The card is from Jessalyn, who lives in Ontario, Canada.  She is a mother of two and is married to her best friend.  She says that loons are very popular  just north of where she lives.  She also mentions her husband’s family cottage in Buckhorn.  She says if you go out in a canoe at dusk,  you can talk to the loons.  “It’s a beautiful place but I have to say that the red eyes of the loons keep me from getting too close!”.  I can understand that!

The Loon stamp!

The Loon stamp!

Here is the postage stamp.  Amazing, huh?  I wish we did things like this is in the USA, but if we ever have, I don’t know about it.

From China

From China

This one is from a fifteen year old in China who lives in Hangzhou.  They say the city is beautiful and has many delicious foods.  They write “To be honest, the Chinese food in America is not real Chinese food.  I hope you’ll have a chance to come to China and try it!  Otherwise, I would like to have a cute little log house, it’s cute!  Happy Postcrossing!”

Somehow the news that Chinese food in America is not authentic, doesn’t really surprise me.

rubber stamps and doodles on card from China

rubber stamps and doodles on card from China

Just look at the cute things that are rubber stamped and doodled on the card from China!

That’s all for today folks.  More soon.

This entry was posted in in the mail, post cards, postcrossing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Postcards — the stack is getting smaller!

  1. Jan Thompson says:

    Fast trip around the world! Enjoyed it! Hugs, Jan

  2. Pingback: beautiful: BERTAHAN tanpa QE (070613) » HON 2000

Comments are closed.