The Things We Take for Granted

scorpion in my kitchen sink

scorpion in my kitchen sink!  at least this one wasn’t in my bed.

When I got up this morning, my water was off.  This is a fairly common occurrence in my rural area in the summer, especially if it hasn’t rained in a while, which it hasn’t.  (I’m not exactly sure what all they do when they turn off the water, but I know it involves “stirring” the water supply.)  I was not warned about these days of no water before moving here, but honestly, I probably would have moved here anyway.  If I’d been told about the multitude of scorpions I’d have to deal with each summer, that might have been a different story.  This summer, I broke down and we started spraying the nasty little critters.  I digress, the scorpion story is for another time.

As I said earlier, I woke to no water.  If you live in the city, this probably rarely happens to you.  It usually happens here four or five times a year, at least.  You never know when it will be.  So, when I woke up, I could not brush my teeth, much less shower, wash clothes or flush.  Paints a pretty picture, doesn’t it?  I was starting to debate brushing my teeth with orange Sunkist soda as a rinse, when I finally heard the telltale signs of the water coming back on — thumps, bangs and hisses from the bathroom.  The thumps and bangs sound like they will break the toilet lid or the pipes will come lose, so my imagination always runs wild to the messes I could face.  I glanced at the clock to see that it was after 1:15 PM (early to have the water back on!) and I ran to the restroom and brushed my teeth!  I was overjoyed by this seemingly tiny chore of personal hygiene that most of us take for granted every single day.  I was grateful to be able to do it.

When my water is off for the day, I always — ALWAYS, end up thinking of people who have no running water on a daily basis, people who have no clean water at all.  The people who have no air conditioning in this horrible heat.  I think of the people who have no roof over their head at night and who have no shoes on their feet.  I think of the hungry people in this world and I think of how very lucky I am.  I am grateful.  On days like this, I also try to scrape up some money to donate to organizations who help bring clean water to those who don’t have it now or who will feed a hungry child.  I hope you’ll take a moment to consider all you are thankful for and then send a few dollars to help those in need.  If we all pitch in, we might just make this a better world.

This entry was posted in gratitude, little things and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.