It’s been a while…

Recipe from Dan and Joe in the U.S.

Recipe from Dan and Joe in the U.S.

It’s been a while.  Thought I’d share some postcards and try to get back in the swing of things.  Hope you enjoy.

The first postcard is from Dan and Joe.  They live here in the United States.  They say on the postcard that they tried to find me a unique postcard and I must say that it is a unique one for me.  It’s shaped like an old recipe card with a guideline on the back to cut it to size for a recipe box.  Although I just noticed that if I did actually cut it down, it would destroy most of the recipe on front.  Think I’ll keep it as it is.

From Patricia in New Hampshire

From Patricia in New Hampshire

Sometimes I get a postcard in an envelope.  There are folks who prefer to get them that way.  I prefer to get them without one, but it doesn’t make me crazy, as long as they still write on the actual postcard.  This card came from Patricia, another from the U.S.  She added a sticker to the card saying that she was sorry to send it in an envelope, but that many of her postcards had been lost and never registered and mailing like this made that less likely to happen.  Unfortunately, I happen to agree.  I love this old-fashioned Thanksgiving card.  It’s lovely and reminds me of the types of cards we could easily find when I was a child.  She writes that time flies fast and the holidays will be here soon.  I just noticed that it’s a zazzle.com card.  Have you ever checked out zazzle?  Great place!  You can make custom postage, postcard and all kinds of other stuff!

a thank you from Ute

a thank you from Ute

The third postcard is my favorite of this bunch!  It is a self-made postcard from Ute in Hamburg (Germany) that she sent to me as a thank you for one I sent her earlier.  It’s nice to get those sometimes!  I send them sometimes too if the card I get has a return address on it.  I can’t make out all of her handwriting on the card, but it does say that she likes to go to Denmark for two weeks every September to shoot photos of mushrooms and to collect edible mushrooms.  She loves the taste of the edible mushrooms.  Looking at her profile on postcrossing tells me that she’s a kindergarten teacher.  She likes reading, music, meeting friends and go out dancing, the cinema or sometimes theatre and trips by bicycle.

from Hong Kong

from Hong Kong

The last postcard for today is from a gentleman in Hong Kong.  It shows photos he took himself during his travels.  The majority of the back of the postcard shows a 2013 calendar.  So there isn’t much room for writing a message.  He does say he hopes I like the card.  I do.  When I get cards with little written on them, I try to look up the senders profile to learn more.  It says that he enjoys travel, taking photos, reading books, watching movies.

International Red Cross stamp

International Red Cross stamp

This is the postage stamp that was on the Hong Kong card.  I love that it’s about the International Red Cross!

 

That’s it for this post.  More tomorrow.

 

 

This entry was posted in in the mail, post cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.