Another Day, another Day of Postcards

I was looking through my postcards trying to decide what to post together, when I realized I have several bird postcards right now.  So, this post is the start of that theme, but these are all from one person, Penny in Australia.  Hope you enjoy!

Parrots of Australia

Parrots of Australia

Penny emailed me through postcrossing and told me she was trying to collect postcards from every county in the United States.  She asked if I’d be willing to send her a postcard from the county I live in.  I looked through my stash and found that I had one, so of course, I said yes!  I even had a other postcards that showed things in a couple of other counties that she didn’t have yet, so we exchanged a few cards.

I know, this isn't a bird postcard

I know, this isn’t a bird postcard

Penny sent me cards that she felt showed typical Australian things and she knew I liked birds, so she sent two of them.  Feel free to click on the photos to enlarge them.   Penny sent the first two postcards in the same envelope.   That’s why I’m including it here even though it’s not a bird.   This one shows the Russell Falls, Mount Field National Park in Tasmania.  She says that it’s famous for its wilderness and early Australian convict history.  That their “green” movement started there.  Which is lucky because it saved the rainforest from logging in the 1970’s.  She didn’t write anything about the parrots.

from Penny

from Penny

This third card shows images from Perth Australia, also from Penny.  She says that Perth is the capital of the largest western Australian state.  That it’s famous for yachting, mining and their beautiful black swans.  The black swan is native to Australia and she thinks they are the only country that has native black swans.  The stamps shown in the last two photos were on the Perth postcard and the envelope that the parrot and waterfall cards came in.

Australian postage

Australian postage

Australian postage

Australian postage

This entry was posted in in the mail, post cards, postcrossing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.