The Birds have it

Just a few more birds in my stack of postcards.  At least at this time.  There will be more in the future, I’m sure.

from Finland

from Finland

The first one is one of my favorites I’ve gotten recently.  It comes from Finland, near Taivalkoski.  The postcard shows the “Crow, Birds from the North”.  I’m normally not a fan of crows, but I love the photo on this one!  Possibly because the photo doesn’t stay in the frame.  She says she bought the card in Iso-Syote, which has a great skiing center, although when she was there last, it was too cold to ski.  She says she remembers the temperature at that time as being – 30C!  That’s about – 22F for us folks in the US!  I hope I never feel anything remotely that cold.

folk art bird stamp from Finland

folk art bird stamp from Finland

from Japan

from Japan

The second card comes from Akiko in Fukuoka, Japan.  I’m sorry, but I don’t know if Akiko is male or female and it doesn’t say on their profile.  So, I went to ask.com and asked if Akiko was a female name in Japan, it was a good bet because most of the postcrossing members seem to be female, and it is.  She says that she likes to take photos and she likes birds too.  In fact, she took the photo of the Grey Heron on the postcard!  Love that.  She also used bird stamps on the card.

 

bird stamps from Japan

bird stamps from Japan

 

from Sri Lanka

from Sri Lanka

The third and last postcard for today is a stretch when it comes to birds.  There are two small photos of them on the card, one of which I know is a peacock.  I have no idea what anything else is on the card.  It comes from Hema in Sri Lanka.  She says that she is married and has two children.  She also said she tried to find my home on google maps, but couldn’t because I used a PO box instead of a street address.  When I emailed to let her know I got the postcard, I assured her that even with the street address, she wouldn’t have seen much of my house on google maps.  That is one of the problems with living in a rural area.

stamp from Sri Lanka

stamp from Sri Lanka

On Hema’s profile I was reminded that Sri Lanka used to be known as Ceylon and it is an island in the Indian Ocean just below the tip of India.  She also mentions Ceylon Tea.  I’ve never had it, but will be on the lookout for it now.  Her stamp looks like it’s about scouting.

 

Remember that you can always click on the photos on my blog and more than likely enlarge them.  Tomorrow — postal related postcards.

 

 

This entry was posted in in the mail, post cards, postcrossing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.