A few Self Made Postcards!!!

from my former co-worker!

from my former co-worker who now lives in Oregon!

This first postcard is one of those one in a million type things.  It’s a postcrossing card and it came from someone I used to work with about a million years ago!  Over the years, I’ve learned that a few people I actually know were also postcrossing members.  I have always thought it would be so fun to get one of their names as someone for me to send a card to.  Then out of the blue, I get a message through postcrossing with an old nickname in the subject line.  Odd, I think.  I click on the message to see that it’s from my former co-worker (I did not know she was a postcrossing member!) and she has just gotten my name and address!  Woo hoo!  I love her postcard.  It’s original artwork of hers.  Have I ever told you all that I love, love, love getting homemade postcards?

chamomile

chamomile

The second one if from Egidijus in Mažeikiai, Lithuania.  He took this photo himself of chamomile that was in his garden.  He wrote very little on his card.  From his profile, I learned that he likes to read Stephen King, watch old movies, listen to Metallica’s music, go fishing especially from boats, photography and traveling.

old school in Poland

old school in Poland

The third postcard shows several colorways of the oldest school in the city Karolina lives in.  She is from Poland.  I believe she made this card herself, but I’m not positive.

 

 

fun Polish stamp!

fun Polish stamp!

Here is the wonderful postage stamp used on the card from Poland!  I love postage stamps!  There are so many fabulous ones out in this big old world!  Amazing artistry.

 

 

Swiss postcard of painting

Swiss postcard of painting

This postcard is from Switzerland — only my third to ever come from there!  Dagmar sent this postcard of her husband’s painting.  She says it’s her favorite of his work.  She wrote very little on the card, but did say that “flowers are the smiles of the earth”.  I learned from her profile that her favorite vacation that she’s taken was a “one week-sleddog tour in Swedish Lappland”.  She hopes they get to do that again.  Now, that is a sign of a good vacation — wanting to repeat it.

trash can art from the Netherlands

trash can art from the Netherlands

The last postcard today comes from Christa in the Netherlands.  I love this postcard!  She says that it shows a trash can in an amusement park.  She says she did a series and this one is the most colorful.   It is so obviously a trash can in Holland (or some other foreign land), but I find it interesting that there are Pepsi cups and Marlboro packages in there.  On her profile, she says that books and movies fill up much of her time.  Sounds like a woman after my own heart.

More soon.

This entry was posted in friends, in the mail, post cards, postcrossing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A few Self Made Postcards!!!

  1. Pingback: Totally Random postcards | Happenings on Chaos Ranch

Comments are closed.