Some “typical” Single view postcards

Vilniaus, Lithuania
Vilniaus, Lithuania

There is nothing wrong with a typical, touristy postcard.  I like getting them because I probably have not been to the city or town they show.

This first one is a typical night view of the city.  Just looking at it and not knowing where it’s from, you could imagine that it could be just about anywhere in the world near water.  I’ve never been to Chicago, but Chicago is the city that came to mind when I first looked at this.  It’s actually from Viktorika in Lithuania!  It shows a night view of Vilniaus, the capital of Lithuania.

Holland's tulips

Holland’s tulips

The next postcard shows the tulips of Holland!  It comes from Kilian in the Netherlands.  He wrote very little on the card, but did use some fun hot air balloon rubber stamps that say “air mail” on the back.  Love rubber stamps too!  As always, click on the photo to enlarge.

 

 

from Ernest

from Ernest

I thought this one was going to be from the United Kingdom, but it actually came from Malaysia.  There is nothing on the back of the card to explain about the photo, so, for all I know, it could be the United Kingdom.  Lots of people pick up postcards on vacation.  I love this postcard because it comes from a four-year old boy named Ernest!  He wrote “Hi Im Ernest” himself!  He even drew a little smiley face.  His mom wrote “I am a 4 yr old boy sending this card from Malaysia with mummy’s help.  Happy Postcrossing!  She also added a smiley face!  I absolutely love it when kids send cards too.  It gives me hope for the future of the postal service and all things epistolary!

from Belarus

from Belarus

I love amazingly ornate buildings.  This one from Sergio in Belarus fits into that category.  It shows “Peterhof.  The Great Palace and the Great Cascade, the Samson Fountain”.  Sergio said “Hello Sharon!  I wish good luck and interesting postcards from all the world for you!  Live smiling. (smiley face)  Sergio!”.  I checked his profile, but it has absolutely nothing written on it.  I guess he likes all kinds of postcards.

Russian resort

Russian resort

I would have never guessed that this postcard was from Russia.  I picture Russia as frozen all the time.  This card shows a beautiful, popular resort in Southern Russia.  Yulya sends it and wishes me “all the best”.  I love it when a postcard teaches me and stretches my preconceived perceptions of the world!

More soon!

This entry was posted in in the mail, post cards, postcrossing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some “typical” Single view postcards

  1. Your collection is AMAZING!!!! 🙂

    • You could have an amazing collection too by joining Postcrossing! The stamps to send postcards to foreign countries are $1.10 at the moment and going up to $1.15 in January, but I truly think our postage rates are cheaper than the other countries in the world. Check it out and let me know if I can help in any way. 😉

      Sharon

      >

Comments are closed.