Every once in a while — I feel uncomfortable

Chinese stamps

Chinese stamps

I write letters too.  I’m not just a postcard person.  Occasionally, I attempt to start a pen pal relationship with someone I meet on postcrossing.  One such person lives in China.  He and I wrote a few letters back and forth, until I got one that just made me flat-out uncomfortable.  It’s been many months since I got the letter.  I won’t go into great detail, but I can tell you that every time he wrote, he asked me to send him small denominations of money.  I sent some coins the first time, but I have no idea if he ever got them.  Then he said things about the United States hating China.  That was what made me uncomfortable.  I have no idea what kind of misinformation the Chinese public is given, but I no longer felt the need to write this person and defend my country.

I emailed him through postcrossing and told him that I didn’t think we were a good fit and that I would not be continuing our exchange of letters.  He emailed back and angrily asked me to explain myself.  I chose not to do that.  This weekend, I got a postcard from him, as if nothing has happened, asking for my advice about his education, saying he needed my help.

Yep, I still felt creepy when I read this one too.  I’m showing the stamps from his card.  I did like them.

This entry was posted in in the mail and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Every once in a while — I feel uncomfortable

  1. SCREAM!!! It makes me pissed when an innocent thing is taken in the wrong context. Block this guy if you can. Asking for money is the the biggest flag ever. I don’t want you to get hurt. And yes… I guess his stamps are nice, but now I’m totally creeped out my him. Lol!!! Be safe!

    • You would be totally shocked by how many people on Postcrossing ask for coins, small bills or other enclosures if you mail the postcard in an envelope. It’s a real turn off for me, so I just ignore it and send one without an envelope in most cases. The ones who want to participate in a trade of some sort don’t bother me at all, but I still don’t do it. This was the one time and I felt like I was burned.

      Hugs, Sharon

Comments are closed.