More Random cards

white stork from Belarus

white stork from Belarus

The first card I’ll be sharing with you today is of storks.  It comes from Dmitri in Belarus.  He says that storks are a symbol of Belarus and that the local people like storks very much.  They think it’s lucky if the stork builds a nest in a tree near their house and that it will bring much happiness to the people in the house.  I think storks are pretty interesting looking birds.  I love their long legs!  I would not want to irritate one of these birds either.  I believe they could do some real damage with that beak!

 

Russian princess

Russian princess

The second card is of an antique photo of a woman.  Most of the description written on the postcard is covered by the postmark, but I can make out that she was a princess.  Sorry I can’t tell you which one.  The postcard comes from Nastya in Russia.  She says she is watching a movie called “The Barber of Siberia” and that is a truly unforgettable movie!  She really liked the main actor.  She’s also reading “The Black Obelisk” by Erich Maria Remarque.  She just started the book and couldn’t really tell me about it at this point.  She’s read this author before and her favorite of the author’s books is “Spark of Life”.   The book she read before this one was written by Tolstoy’s daughter about his life.

 

Opera House, Ukraine

Opera House, Ukraine

The third card is from the city of Lviv in the western part of the Ukraine.  It basically says “Greetings” and that’s pretty much it.  He’s used rubber stamps for what I think is his return address, the postcard ID number and one that says “Par Avion” which means air mail.  You can’t read most of the rubber stamped places because of the postmarks.  I’ve just noticed that the postage stamps are interesting, but I apparently never took a photo of them.  One of them is a Unicef stamp that shows a child’s drawing of a park with trees, a city in the background and a rainbow over head.  It has a girl in a wheelchair and a boy kneeling before her with what I think is a heart for her.

 

I wanted to add more to this post, but I am once again having trouble with photos.  So, more tomorrow, I hope.

This entry was posted in in the mail, post cards, postcrossing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.