Another Self Made Envelope

front, address on label covered

front, address on label covered

I had a question about addressing the envelope after my last post on envelope making.  I made this envelope to send a letter to my granddaughter.  It basically shows the same technique for making an envelope that I showed here, but this time, I folded the paper differently.  I thought you might like seeing another kind of paper I sometimes use for them. When I use printed paper, like this, to make my envelope, I use a “hello” label to write the address on.  You can get them at any office supply and probably Wal-Mart.  They usually stick pretty well, but if it doesn’t stick completely because of the paper finish, just add washi tape along the sides to make it secure.  Another benefit to using the labels to address your envelope is that if you make a mistake in writing the address, you can start over on a new label instead of ruining your envelope!

This envelope was made with a page ripped from a Texas tourism book.  I got it free at the visitor center when I got the map on my last trip home from Oklahoma.  I liked the trees and the photo took up most of the page.  I thought it would make a pretty envelope.

taped seams

taped seams

So, I placed the letter on the back  of the page and simply folded it around the letter.  First I folded the top and bottom together, then folded in the sides.  Then I sealed the folded edges with washi tape.  After putting tape on the seams, I realized there were gapes where the folds met the top and bottom.  I thought they might get caught in the postal sorting machines, so I added tape to the top and bottom.  Of course the photo on the back of the envelope is upside down, but it’s not important to me.  I added my return address to the back so it wouldn’t distract from the front.  That’s really all there is to it.  I do have a template for making “normal” envelopes out of paper too.  I talked a little about it in this post and showed hand decorated paper for the envelopes on this one.

I do want to mention and thank Pam from the blog CappuccinoAndArtJournal!  The first folded envelopes I ever saw were from her.  I owe all of my envelope creativity to Pam.  Check out her blog if you are at all interested in mail art.  She’s fun.

Until next time…..

 

This entry was posted in grandkids, in the mail, letter writing, little things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.