Hubby’s Quilt!

hubby's quilt

hubby’s quilt

Last weekend, I got to go to a quilt retreat!  I used to go to several a year.  Now, I’m extremely lucky to get to go to one or two a year.  This was my second retreat this year and both were at my favorite retreat center in Eustace, Texas.  I wish I had taken more photos because I actually accomplished quite a lot this time.  That’s rare for me.  I usually visit with friends more than I sew.

This is the quilt I started for my hubby last Easter at my last retreat.  I worked on it at my son’s in August and September also.  Those were really the only days I had to sew.

the back of hubby's quilt

the back of hubby’s quilt

It was a quick quilt, using the Batting Buddy ruler system.  I talked more about the quilt and rulers in this post.  All in all, it was a very quick quilt to make.  I pieced and machine quilted it at the same time.  The only thing I did differently than the ruler system suggests is that I added a traditional binding when it was done.  My one tip, if you should ever decide to make one of these quilts, is that you wash your backing fabric and make sure you cut the backing pieces on the straight of grain.  The second photo shows the back of the quilt.  I had to  use more than one fabric for the back since I didn’t have enough of the first one I bought.  When I found the second and third fabrics, I couldn’t decide between them, so I added both.  I love the way it turned out!

Click on the photos to enlarge them.

*I’ve linked this post to crazy mom quilts — finish it up Friday!

 

This entry was posted in hubby, quilt, quilt retreat, quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hubby’s Quilt!

  1. JanT says:

    I’m pea green with envy. looks great, Sharon. What batting did you use?

  2. Beth says:

    Looks great. I love retreats too! I am sure your hubby will love it!

  3. Maryse says:

    Your quilt is beautiful! I am sure hubby will love and appreciate it!

Comments are closed.