Later…on The First

the first page in my 2015 gratitude journal

the first page in my 2015 gratitude journal

I had more gratitude to write down today.  In the past, I’ve waited until the day was done to write down the things I was grateful for, but I wanted to truly focus on gratitude all day long, so I wrote down everything else I could think of in the early afternoon.

I have a weakness for blank books.  I had a beautiful one just sitting on my bookcase, empty and waiting for me to decide what to write in it.  That’s the one I picked for my new attitude project.  It has wonderful gold-edged paper in it that really likes my fountain pen ink — no bleed through and dries quickly.  Love it!  I used my Noodler’s Black ink in my pen.

my last pineapple mini

my last pineapple mini

I set up my sewing machine and started organizing the pineapple quilt project today.  (I want to start it in the next couple of days!)  I’ve made many miniature pineapple quilts over the years, like the one to the left.  This is the basic setting I plan to use.  I’m going to use foundation papers to piece the blocks.  My friend Robin went to a lot of trouble to design the blocks in the size I wanted.  Thank you, Robin!  They’ll be about ten inches square.  I plan to make enough blocks to make a large queen sized quilt.  As in the photo of the mini, all the “dark” pieces of the block will be black and the “light” pieces will be various batik fabrics.    It should just sparkle!  I can’t wait to sew up a bunch and show them to you!

This entry was posted in fountain pen, gratitude, quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.