The Start of my La Passacaglia Quilt

the La Passacaglia quilt is on the cover

the La Passacaglia quilt is on the cover

First, let me say that my hubby has had his surgery and is doing well.  The cancer had spread to the outer edges of the prostate, so he will be having radiation therapy in a few months.  All in all, we are doing great now and life is getting back to normal!

Second, I’ve started a new quilt project!  Yes, I know I still have many quilts in progress, but I just couldn’t stay away from this one.  My new project  is the La Passacaglia quilt from the Millefiori Quilts book by Willyne Hammerstein.  I got my book from Paper Pieces along with the acrylic templates and the English Paper Pieces.  These pieces are small!  The largest one, the larger pentagon shape (the Mickey pieces in the picture below) is only 1 and 1/4 inches long on each side!  You can order the pieces slightly larger (1 and 3/4″ I think) which would end up making the quilt about twin sized, but I didn’t know that when I ordered mine.  (Give them a call to get the larger pieces.)  To the best of my knowledge, you can only get the book and supplies in the USA from Paper Pieces.  The book is more expensive than you would normally pay for a book here in the States because it’s from France.  It’s published in French and English and has 19 projects in it.

This is the start of one of the rosettes.  My first one!

This is the start of one of the rosettes. My first one!

I’m thread basting the pentagons and glue basting the diamonds and triangles.  There are only three shapes in this quilt and five different pieces.  Two diamonds, two pentagons and one triangle.  I had a little trouble with that center star at first.  I had never done any kind of EPP other than hexagons, so the new shapes threw me for a awhile.  I think I have the hang of it now and I am going to enjoy making this quilt!

The next part I’ll be piecing will be ten tiny, red five-pointed stars that have a small black and white pentagon in the center. They will be connected to the mickey pieces.  There will be a larger diamond between each star, but I haven’t picked out the fabric for the diamond yet.  After that round, it could be a complete rosette number one or I may continue on to make it one of the larger rosettes numbers two and three.  We’ll see.

At this point, I’m planning on the quilt to basically be red, black, white and grey.  I’m going to put Mickey’s and Minnie’s throughout the quilt, with lots of dots and stripes.  Oh what fun!  Until next time…..Happy Quilting!

This entry was posted in english paper piecing, hand piecing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.